Convent of Christ in Tomar is a Unesco World Heritage Site
The Convent of Christ in Tomar, Portugal is a former Catholic convent that was originally a stronghold for the Templar order during the 12th century. The Templar order eventually dissolved, but the Portuguese branch continued to be active, supporting maritime exploration throughout the 15th century.
UNESCO listed the Convent of Christ in Tomar as a Unesco World Heritage Site in 1983. The structure is a unique example of a medieval monastery fortress and the main headquarters of the Knights Templar. Built in the 12th century, the Convent was part of the Templar defence system, protecting the Christian Kingdom of Portugal from Moors. It was also a symbol of the Reconquista.
The Convent of Christ in Tomar is one of the last Templar towns, built by the fourth Grand Master Gualdim de Pais. Upon its completion, the Knights of the Order of Christ took over the building and continued to expand it over the centuries.
In addition to being a World Heritage Site, the Convent of Christ is also a religious property. In addition to its religious value, it features elements of art and architecture from successive periods. These include a magnificent chapterhouse window made by Diogo de Arruda in 1510.
The Convent of Christ dominates the cityscape of Tomar. It stands on a hill and is the main focus of the city’s identity. It is surrounded by the walls of the Castle of Tomar. Originally, it belonged to the Order of the Templars and was founded in 1160 by Gualdim Pais.
The complex is managed by the Directorate General for Cultural Heritage (DGCH), the central administration department responsible for cultural heritage. This department implements conservation, enhancement, and safeguarding measures for the complex. It is also responsible for the annual programme for the complex.
Museum of religious paintings and artifacts
The Convent Museum is located inside a former monastery, and it houses an impressive collection of religious art from the early Middle Ages to the present. The collection reflects the history of Dutch art and culture, and includes examples of art from a variety of religious traditions. Highlights include richly illustrated manuscripts, altarpieces, and pieces of clothing. The collection also includes carved ivories and gold ecclesiastical objects.
The museum also includes paintings from the high Renaissance and early Baroque periods. The museum includes a large crucifix by Giovanni Antonio Sogliani and a small altarpiece by Fra Bartolomeo. The painting was commissioned by the city of Siena and contains forty-three small scenes. Other notable works include Fra Angelico’s Crucifixion with Saints, a famous painting by the Italian Renaissance artist.
The cells on the left side of the corridor are believed to be Fra Angelico’s work. While these cells were not used by the friars, they were occasionally used by visitors. The paintings in these cells include the crucifixion with St Dominic and St Jerome.
The Museo di San Marco is located in a former Dominican convent. The convent cells were decorated with frescoes by the famous artist Fra Angelico, and many of these paintings have been preserved for posterity. In addition to Fra Angelico’s frescoes, the museum also displays several pieces by Domenico Ghirlandaio and Fra Bartolomeo.
Museum of Christian art in Old Goa is an interesting place to visit if you are in the area. The museum is located near the Convent of Santa Monica, and offers a wonderful collection of Christian artifacts from the 16th century. With over 150 items on display, the museum is a great way to explore the history and culture of Christianity in Goa.
Open from 8:30am to 5pm
The Paintball Park at Camp Pendleton is expanding its hours this April. From April 2 to 13, the paintball park will be open from 8:30am to 5pm. Night games are also available. During these hours, you can redeem a $10 coupon for a game and use it as payment for your tickets.