The city of Aldie has a rich history of more than 200 years, which makes it a unique place to visit in Loudoun County. Few other locations pack as much history into such a small area. From its history to its art scene, Aldie has something for every visitor.
In Aldie, Virginia, you can visit the Historic Gristmill, a water mill that was built after 1804. The mill used the Little River for power and is one of the few remaining mills in Virginia that still uses much of its original machinery. It is the perfect place to get a feel for the history of the area.
The mill was built between 1807 and 1809 and still has its tandem wheels, a unique feature in a mill. Its twin waterwheels grind grains for markets on the East Coast and into Europe. The mill is rich in early 19th century manufacturing history and Civil War history, and offers a free tour and educational programs.
In 2006, the Aldie Mill was turned over to the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority. Today, the mill is one of two working water mills in the Virginia Piedmont that is open to the public. It’s located at the base of Bull Run Mountain, in the historic town of Aldie. In 1764, James Mercer settled this area in Virginia and named it Aldie after his ancestral home in Perthshire, Scotland.
Today, the historic gristmill is home to a variety of exhibits that illustrate the early industrial life of the area. Visitors can see working tandem metal waterwheels, learn about the miller’s chamber, and enjoy a docent-led demonstration. In addition to being a historic landmark, the mill also has a brick granary, where the products of the mill are sold.
If you love to support local artists and enjoy a good art show, Aldie is a great place to go. Every year, the Aldie Mill hosts a major art show in the region. The event is a great way to show off the talent of local artists and help support a local nonprofit.
The Aldie Mill Historic Park is filled with local history and offers a fascinating look into early 1800s industrial life. The complex includes a country mill, granary, and store house. The mill is open to the public and has docents who lead educational talks about the mill’s history. The mill was once visited by President James Monroe and provided grain for both the Confederate and Federal armies during the Civil War. Visitors can also visit the brick granary, which was built between 1809 and 1816.
One place to visit in Aldie, Virginia, is the Aldie Mill. Built after 1804 and powered by the waters of Little River, the water mill is one of the oldest in the state. Much of the original machinery remains. It is considered one of the best preserved mills in Virginia. Located on the main street of Aldie, the mill is a must-see for history buffs.
In the late nineteenth century, there were many black residents of Aldie. Some of these residents were enslaved, while others were free. There were also free black entrepreneurs in the town. The Aldie Mill employed enslaved people as well as free people of color. One such free black entrepreneur was Wavin Corum, who collected and hauled goods and cut cordwood for the mill’s operators. Another notable person was Daniel Dangerfield, a former slave who escaped to Pennsylvania and was tried as a fugitive slave. The case fanned sectional animosity in the state and in the United States. After the Civil War, African Americans began to settle near Aldie, building schools and churches.
Aldie, Virginia, was established in 1765 and has been home to many notable residents over the years, including President James Monroe and General Stonewall Jackson’s mother. It has a number of historic landmarks, including Mount Zion Old School Baptist Church and the Aldie Mill. In addition, the Aldie Mill is one of the few remaining historic mills in Virginia with much of its original machinery intact. These historic sites provide insight into the community’s rural past.
The Aldie mill was linked to a larger mill for 150 years. This mill was completed in 1809 and ground wheat and corn from the lower Loudoun countryside and Fauquier and Prince William counties. In 1810, Aldie was incorporated as a town by the Virginia General Assembly. Four of its eight trustees were related to the mill. The Scottish Matthew Adam was the millwright, William Cooke was the contractor, and John Sinclair surveyed the land.
The village of Aldie has a rich history of war. It is the site of the Battle of Aldie, fought by Union forces on June 17, 1862. The First Massachusetts cavalry column travelled through the village on June 17, and then turned northwest onto the Snickersville Turnpike. They had been in the area for most of the day. Along the way, dead horses lay in fields on either side of the road. As they rounded the corner, the Union cavalry was caught in an ambush, and the soldiers were slaughtered by sharpshooters.