Greek Revival buildings

The Greek Revival style was popular in the 1830s and 1850s, primarily for commercial buildings, churches, and houses. It was also used in public buildings such as courthouses and schools. It was associated with the democratic ideals of ancient Greece. It emphasized symmetry and formality, which were associated with dignity and a respect for law. The three structures all have a portico with graceful Doric columns.

Today, three Greek Revival buildings in Ovid, New York, have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places. These buildings are not used anymore but are still beautiful examples of this architectural style. They were originally constructed as the county court house, clerk’s office, and health department. They are now part of a nonprofit organization that helps preserve these structures.

The Aaron Wilson House, built in 1835, is a distinctive two-story, five-bay center-hall stone dwelling located in the rural town of Ovid in south-central Seneca County. The house is a late Federal/early Greek Revival style building and sits a few hundred feet west of NY 414. It is surrounded by gently rolling fields and occasional copses of trees.

The Greek Revival style was first used in the 18th century for public buildings in Britain. It was a reaction to the Napoleonic Wars, the Act of Union, and the clamour for political reform. The winner of the competition, William Wilkins, incorporated Greek styles into his work. However, the style was not widely adopted until the early nineteenth century.

The courthouse in Ovid is a classic example of the Greek Revival style. It is a red brick structure with a portico and a small domed cupola on the west front. The building was originally constructed in 1804 but was moved to Waterloo in 1818. A second courthouse was built in 1844 and 1845. It is still standing today.

The former Seneca County Courthouse complex in Ovid has three unique Greek Revival buildings. It has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places since 1976. The 1845 courthouse, known as the “Papa Bear,” has four Doric order columns that support the portico. The 1845 clerk’s office and the “Old” clerk’s office were subsequently built.

The Ovid Free Library is also a classic Greek Revival structure. It was constructed between the old municipal building and Three Bears. Originally, Martha Rafferty’s home had been the town hall and a printing press for the local newspaper. After her death, the home was no longer inhabitable and needed renovations. The library was constructed on top of her former residence and is one of the most unique libraries in the Finger Lakes.

Robert Harman’s sketches

The collection includes over 200 drawings by Robert Harman, half of them in pencil, and half of them in pen and ink. The drawings date from the 1970s to 1997, and all of them are signed by the artist. The majority of the drawings depict the pre-World War I and pre-World War II periods, with a few that date from the 1920s and 1930s. Other pieces in the collection include paper dolls, periodicals with Harman drawings on the covers, and other ephemera.

Harman was an American illustrator who briefly worked as an actor. He specialized in the illustration of books, magazines, and films. He also drew many caricatures of film stars and created “The Hollywood Panorama,” a full-color montage of 1,000 vintage film stars. In 1971, Harman published a book featuring the drawings of his favorite stars.

Three Bears

A non-profit organization, the Friends of the Three Bears in Ovid, manages the Three Bears courthouse complex on Main Street in Ovid. Founded in 2002, the group works in partnership with Seneca County to care for the building and its grounds. The buildings are affectionately known as the Paper Bear, Baby Bear, and Mama Bear.

The complex consists of three Greek Revival buildings, including the old courthouse, which are on the National Register of Historic Places. The building complex includes the Courthouse, old clerk’s office, and new clerk’s office. The architecture is classic and beautiful, featuring four Doric order columns.

The Friends of the Three Bears were established in 2002 and have raised more than one million dollars to restore the buildings. They have become a source of pride for the town. The Papa Bear is a welcoming destination for visitors who want to explore the Finger Lakes area. The Featured Artist exhibit occurs monthly, and there are also art classes and lectures on topics such as shipwrecks on Seneca Lake and the Underground Railroad.

Ovid’s “Three Bears” buildings are a local landmark, serving as the county government, local bank, and Ovid’s free library. Two of the buildings still serve as county government facilities, although they are slightly closer to the town than the new clerk’s office. The buildings have a natural setting, surrounded by fields and trees on two sides.