Glyndon is a suburban community in Baltimore County, Maryland. It was founded in 1871 by Dr. Charles A. Leas and is a northwest Baltimore County suburb. There are many places to visit in Glyndon. The following are just a few: Glyndon Station Park, Thomas Rowe Price, Woman’s Club of Glyndon, and Emory Grove Campground.
Glyndon Station Park
If you love the outdoors, you’ll want to visit Glyndon Station Park. This eleven-acre park is located near Glyndon Station. It has several picnic areas, a playground, and a walking trail. It’s also a historical site, as it served as the first temperance camp meeting ground below Mason Dixon’s line. It also features a steam engine bell and gazebo.
There are lots of reasons to visit Glyndon, Maryland. Its small, rural community has a rich history, and the community is still home to many families who live there all year long. The town was first settled in 1871, and it has retained many of its original character. Originally known as Emory Grove, it had a country store and a railroad station, making it a convenient location for commuters to Baltimore. However, the city was not formally incorporated until 1879. Today, the unofficial boundaries of the town are marked by historic designation signs.
Emory Grove Campground
Emory Grove Campground, located in Glyndon, is a summertime sanctuary for those seeking a respite from the summer heat. Founded in 1868, the campground originally served as a Methodist camp meeting site. These days, the campground welcomes campers of all denominations. Its 47 rustic cottages have recently been renovated to include flush toilets. The campground also hosts events such as a blueberry bake sale and antique car rally.
Emory Grove Campground is located within the Glyndon Historic District. The campground was established before the city of Glyndon was incorporated. Among its many features are the Temple, Tabernacle, and Hotel, which were all built during the 1800s.
The Emory Grove Campground is open to the public for free, though donations are appreciated. The campground is owned by the Emory Grove Association, which you can contact for more information about the area. Another way to support the campground is by becoming a member of the Emory Grove Ladies Auxiliary.
Emory Grove Campground is located on the northern boundary of the Glyndon Historic District. During the summer, the campground is packed with people and occupied by tents. Camping at Emory Grove is a great way to spend your time in Glyndon.
The Glyndon Community Association hosts a variety of community events throughout the year, all of which are free to the public. For example, they sponsor an Easter Egg Hunt, which takes place the Saturday before Easter. In addition, they also host an egg-stuffing event for parents in the area.
The Glyndon Swim Club is another community focal point when the weather is warm. Many families enjoy dipping in the pool. During the summer, the town hosts its annual 4th of July Parade. The residents wear costumed costumes and ride bikes around town. Santoni’s is a great place to grab a meal and watch the festivities.
Thomas Rowe Price
The Victorian-era town of Glyndon, Maryland, is an architectural gem, with plenty of historic buildings and homes to explore. Linked to the railroad, Methodist camp meetings, and generations of families, the town has benefited from preservation efforts over the years. Arnold Honkofsky first visited Glyndon more than 35 years ago and describes it as a small town with a “very friendly, family-like atmosphere.” He often hikes Central and Railroad avenues, and says the town is “very friendly.” He recommends checking out Santoni’s Marketplace for its eclectic selection of items.
Glyndon was the home of Dr. Thomas Rowe Price, who was a prominent figure in Glyndon for many years. In addition to his work as a surgeon, Dr. Price also served as the director of the Glyndon Permanent Building Association and was involved with the Western Maryland Railroad. The doctor is survived by his wife, three children, and four sisters. His siblings were Mrs. George Hoshall of Baltimore County, Mrs. Henry Dickmyer of Baltimore County, and Mrs. Annie Dehoff of Harrisburg, Pa.
Thomas Rowe Price was born in Glyndon in 1898 and spent his childhood there. His father, Thomas Rowe Price, Sr., a country doctor, raised three children in Glyndon. He went on to graduate from Franklin High School in 1914 and worked as a salesman of stocks and bonds for a few years. Eventually, he decided to start his own investment counseling business, which he operated until his retirement.
After working for DuPont, Price decided to pursue a career in investing. During this time, he worked for three small investment companies and formed a vision for a firm with a no-load fee system and a focus on growth investing. His success earned him a spot as the head of investment at MacKubin, Legg and Company in the mid-1930s, which later became Legg Mason.
Thomas Rowe Price is easily accessible using public transportation. Use Moovit to get directions and see live bus and train schedules to T. Rowe Price/Gar 3 easily. With over ninety million users, Moovit is a free, easy-to-use transit app that makes getting around your city a breeze.
Woman’s Club of Glyndon
The Woman’s Club of Glyndon was founded in 1898. Originally, members gathered on neighbors’ porches to discuss literary and civic issues. Later, the club purchased a schoolhouse on Butler Road. The original schoolhouse was built in 1887 but was abandoned in 1931, when the town was consolidated with a newly constructed school in Reisterstown. Today, the Glyndon Woman’s Club is an active civic organization that promotes literary and civic issues and activities.
One of the group’s most prominent endeavors is holding a charity tea each year. Last year, the event raised over $3,000 to support local projects. The group has also contributed to key community initiatives including the Community Crisis Center Inc., which helps the residents of Glyndon, and Franklin High School’s health center.
Glyndon is a small community with a rich Victorian heritage. Many residents enjoy the community and its pool, Santoni’s Marketplace, and the U.S. Post Office. Despite being one of the last towns in Maryland without regular mail delivery, Glyndon is a friendly and eclectic community.
The Volunteer Fire Department was founded in 1904, just a few months after a fire destroyed the town’s train station. Today, the Glyndon Fire Department protects the town and surrounding neighborhoods with modern fire protection. The organization’s Ladies Auxiliary has been active since 1953, and raises funds for the fire department’s work.
Glyndon is proud of its heritage and history. In fact, it was the first Baltimore County town to be designated as an historic locality. This designation is a testament to the town’s heritage. In addition, the community is home to the Woman’s Club of Glyndon.